Faculty Excellence Awards

The Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence Awards were established in 2011 to recognize those nominees selected as finalists but not conferred with Endowed Teaching Chairs, acknowledging the invaluable contributions these educators make to Seminole State College. These awards are provided through funding from one of our Endowed Teaching Chair donors, respecting their commitment to quality instruction by recognizing and fostering teaching excellence. Faculty Excellence Award honorees receive a $1,000 cash award.

There is no limit on the number of times a faculty member can be honored with a Faculty Excellence Award. Receiving this award in multiple years demonstrates a consistent commitment to quality instruction that is to be admired by the College’s entire faculty and staff, our students and our community partners in education.

Faculty Excellence Award honorees are selected through the same process as our Endowed Teaching Chairs. After an extensive selection process conducted by peers from the College’s faculty and staff, all the finalists are interviewed by a committee of the Foundation's Board of Directors. During these interviews, it has become tradition for a member of the Seminole State College Screening Committee to introduce each finalist. These introductory statements offer incredible insight into the amazing accomplishments and passion for teaching found in our faculty. They also recognize the many ways faculty members have distinguished themselves.

Some of these introductory statements have been linked to the honorees below. You are invited to read these testimonials and find inspiration from the outstanding faculty at Seminole State College.

Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence Award Honorees


  • Dianna Campbell
  • Mary Colon
  • Dr. Van Quach
  • Dr. Lori Theodore


  • Christina Bisirri
  • Dr. Doreen Collins
  • Dr. Camesha Manzueta
  • Deborah Mead


  • Kathryn Rivera
  • Karen Feldman
  • Daniel Gabilondo


  • Mayra Eschbach
  • Leslie Sammarco
  • Carlos Vasquez


  • Scott Freeman
  • Jennifer Middleton
  • Laila Nimri


  • Marisabel Irizarry
  • Amee Mehta
  • Jennifer Middleton
  • Vanessa Wynn





Foundation for Seminole State
1055 AAA Drive
Heathrow, FL 32746
Update Alumni Information | Sitemap