Women Moving Forward - Preparing Tomorrow's Leadership

Seminole State has a rich history of women in leadership roles and believes strongly in preparing future leaders at all levels. The initiative “Women Moving Forward” meets employees at their current levels, responds to their career goals, and adds students to the program for mentorship activities.

Women Moving Forward organizes current programs and tailors them for women at various stages of their careers, educational paths, and visions for the future. The College annually requests feedback of women’s interests for career development, mentoring workshops with speakers, and further programming, which forms the basis for annual program planning.


Women Moving Forward is co-chaired by representatives from Academic Affairs and Student Affairs, the two largest areas of employment. Several of its external outreach avenues are coordinated within the Office of the President.

The College’s program includes activities with the ACE Women’s Network – Florida. The Network focuses on employees seeking advancement to senior leadership.  While this is the focus of the College's program Women Moving Forward, there are occasional opportunities to develop student leaders as well.

2023 Leadership Conference

Save the date for our next Women's Leadership Conference.

  • February 24, 2023
  • Time: 8 a.m. -  2 p.m.
  • Location: Automotive Showroom
Steering Committee
Dr. M. Lisa Valentino
  • Co-chair
  • ACE Women's Network -
    Regional Institutional Representative
  • Associate Vice President, Academic Services
Dr. Jan Lloyd-Lesley
  • Co-chair
  • ACE Women's Network -
    Florida Institutional Representative
  • Associate Vice President, Student Services
Barbara Coleman-Foster
  • Associate Vice President for Equity &  Diversity
Amanda Taylor
  • Assistant Director, Advising & Counseling
Dr. Michele Cuomo
  • Dean, Arts and Communication
Margert Jenkins
  • President, Faculty Senate
  • Professor, Psychology
Marisabel Irizarry
  • Director, Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning
Dr. Shahin Kanani
  • Dean, Allied Health
Dr. Molly Kostenbauder
  • Dean, Health Sciences
Danielle Miller*
  • Human Resources
Dr. Krista Price **
  • Assistant Director, Disability Support Services
Joanne Kuzma
  • Grant Project Manager
Ellen Orr
  • Professor/Program Manager, Office Systems
Brooke Allen
  • Professor Political Science

*designee for Mae Ashby, Associate Vice President, Human Resources.
** designee Professional & Technical Employees Council.
*** designee Career Service Employees Council.

The steering committee follows the College’s shared governance model representing diverse racial/ethnic backgrounds, pay plans, areas of assignment, and primary campuses.


Barbara Coleman-Foster
Associate Vice President, Equity and Diversity/Title IX Coordinator