Childcare Center Employees
- Florida law requires that all employees within a licensed childcare center, within 90 days of employment, register for the 30-hour training (HEV0115).
- The 30-hour course contains 30 hours of childcare training. The courses include Rules and Regulations for Centers or Family Childcare Homes (six hours); Child Abuse and Neglect (four hours); Health Safety and Nutrition (eight hours); Behavioral Observation and Screening (six hours); and Child Growth and Development (six hours).
- Within one year of completing the 30-hour course, students who need an additional 10 hours of training can register for one of the following courses:
- (HEV0092) 10-Hour Infant and Toddler DAP
- (HEV0091) 10-Hour Preschool DAP
- (HEV0090) 10-Hour School-Age DAP
- (HEV0094) 10-Hour Special Needs DAP
All students must take and successfully pass the exam to receive state-mandated credit for the courses.
- Starting January 2005, Florida law requires that all employees within a licensed childcare center register for a five-hour training requirement on literacy. We offer the following courses that will help you meet this new requirement:
- HEV 0158 Heads Up! Reading (Term A, vocational course)
- CHD 2330 Heads Up! Reading (full-semester, college-credit course)
- EEC 2200 Educational Practices (full-semester, college-credit course)
- Registration for these courses must be completed at one of the Seminole State campus locations. Current Seminole State students may also register using MySeminoleState. Students must follow the registration and payment guidelines set by Seminole State.
- Seating is limited; please register early, if possible.
- Not every course is offered each semester.
- Other training facilities are available if students are unable to register for one of the courses offered by Seminole State:
- 4C of Orlando: 407.522.2252, ext. 4269
- Orlando VoTech: 407.246.7060, ext. 4928 or ext. 4830
To schedule your Childcare Training Exam, call 1.888.375.EXAM (3926) or register online.
Students and employers may now print out State-Mandated Training Certificates. Please visit this website to print out your certificate. Click on "View My Transcript." Follow the directions to locate and print the certificates for the course(s) you have completed.
Note: Certificates may only be printed after attending all required hours of a state-mandated course and successful completion of the associated competency test. Please allow two to four weeks for processing of exam results.