Emergency Response Plan

Emergency planning is critical to the health and welfare of members of the Seminole State College community. Its purpose is to provide a response to threats.

This plan outlines the general areas of responsibility for Seminole State College departments charged with responding to emergencies. Detailed emergency procedures are contained in individual departmental emergency response plans, which will be executed, as appropriate, during emergency situations. This Emergency Response Plan provides an overarching framework for the coordination of specific departmental plans.

This outline is arranged by emergency type. Many response steps are identical, regardless of the type of emergency, but there are some variations. The general response outline in the introduction of this plan provides an overview of the functions of each campus' emergency response unit.

The Emergency Management Team, under the College's vice president of information technology and resources/CIO, produced this plan and provides guidance for its implementation:

  • Executive Vice President/CFO: Joe Sarnovsky
  • Vice President of Information Technology and Resources/CIO: Dick Hamann
  • Vice President Student Success Services: Marcia Roman
  • Vice President of Academic Affairs: Laura Ross
  • Associate Vice President, College Relations and Marketing: Michael Garlich
  • Associate Vice President, Human Resources: Mae Kline
  • Provost, Altamonte Springs Campus: Lynn Colon
  • Provost, Heathrow Campus: Michael Staley
  • Interim Provost, Oviedo Campus: Bob Ledford
  • Director, Campus Safety and Security: Maxine Oliver
  • Director, Communications and Media Relations/ PIO: Jay Davis
  • Director, Legal Affairs: Tom O'Hern
  • Director of Facilities: David Hobbs
  • Facilities Manager, Oviedo, Heathrow and Altamonte Springs: Roy King
  • Facilities Manager, Sanford/Lake Mary Campus: Gary Snyder
  • Facilities Manager, Heathrow Campus: Anita Smerdon
  • Environmental Health and Safety Coordinator: Denise Andreu

Administrative Chain of Authority

In the event of an emergency, the chain of authority for administrative decision-making is as follows:

  1. President or a designate (normally the vice president of information technology and resources/CIO; otherwise, a substitute will be identified)
  2. Vice President, Student Success Services
  3. Chief of Security; Campus administrators may initiate decisions for their facilities (as follows)
  4. Provost, Oviedo Campus
  5. Provost, Altamonte Springs Campus
  6. Provost, Heathrow Campus

Administrative decisions that relate to emergency situations, such as the decision to cancel classes, send employees home or close the College, are made by the top-ranking available person in the administrative chain of authority or the administrator of an area Campus, based on input from reporting agents, appropriate administrators (if available) and College Emergency Response Team.

Want more info? Contact us.