Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017
Subscribe to our News RSS

Featured Story

College names 2013 Endowed Teaching Chairs

Left to right: Professor Laura Dickinson, Professor Samuel Gaustad, Dr. Vincent Intondi and Professor Maureen Tremel.

Four Seminole State College of Florida faculty members were honored with $5,000 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards during the College's Spring 2013 Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, May 5. They are:

Laura Dickinson, Winter Park Health Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Laura Dickinson has taught speech at Seminole State since 2003. She uses liberal doses of humor to put students at ease about public speaking.

In addition to being named Teacher of the Year in 2010 by the Florida Communication Association and receiving a 2012 Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence Award at Seminole State, Dickinson is the winner of the Teaching Excellence Award given by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD).

Dickinson received her master’s degree in speech communication as well as her bachelor’s degree in English and creative writing from Miami University of Ohio.

Samuel Gaustad, Community Partners Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Samuel Gaustad has been teaching humanities at Seminole State since 2003. His courses include Ancient and Classical Humanities; Renaissance and Baroque Humanities; and African American Humanities. He also has taught Musical Direction and Sound Design.

Gaustad’s dedication to the arts extends to the Seminole State theater program, where he provides technical guidance and piano accompaniment, as well as acting in some productions. Gaustad was previously honored at Seminole State with the 2011 Chesley G. Magruder Foundation and the 2012 Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence awards.

After receiving his bachelor’s degree in piano pedagogy and performance from Hartwick College, Gaustad studied at The Juilliard School and received his master’s degree in theater history and dramatic theory from the University at Albany.

Dr. Vincent Intondi, Balfour Beatty Construction Endowed Teaching Chair

Dr. Vincent Intondi has been teaching history at Seminole State since 2009. Devoted to his subject and passionate about teaching, Intondi’s topics include U.S. foreign policy, 20th-century African American history, nuclear studies and the black power movement.

Intondi has developed a Living History Speakers series to provide Seminole State students, faculty and staff with the opportunity to hear and meet individuals who have impacted recent U.S. history, including 1960s activist Tom Hayden and atomic bomb survivor Koko Kondo.

In line with his interest in the effects of the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Intondi is director of research at the Nuclear Studies Institute of American University. He recently received a book contract from Stanford University Press for “Links in the Same Chain: Nuclear Weapons, Colonialism and the Global African American Struggle for Freedom.”

Intondi received his doctorate in history from American University. He received his master’s degree in history from the State University of New York-Oswego and his bachelor’s degree in economics from SUNY-Potsdam.

Maureen Tremel, Florida Hospital Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Maureen Tremel has taught nursing at Seminole State since 1986. Tremel is recognized nationally as a leader in developing and implementing “real world” simulation activities. She was recently inducted as a Fellow into the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education.

Her work in simulation with Seminole State College nursing students won the Chancellor’s Best Practice Award in 2011 from Florida’s Department of Education.

Tremel received her master’s degree in nursing, women and infant’s health from the University of Florida and her bachelor’s degree in nursing from Seton Hall University.

Endowed Teaching Chair Awards recognize some of Seminole State's most outstanding educators for their invaluable contributions to the College. Applicants are nominated by their peers and screened by a committee of faculty and staff volunteers. Members of the Foundation for Seminole State College's Board of Directors interview the finalists and select the honorees.

Four faculty members who were selected as finalists but not conferred with Endowed Teaching Chairs were recognized with Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence Awards. Honorees are:

  • Dr. Marisol de Jesús Berrios, Biological Science
  • Professor Eden Donahou, Mathematics
  • Professor Ellen Orr, Office Systems
  • Professor Thomas E. Walker, Business Administration

The Faculty Excellence Awards are provided through Endowed Teaching Chair funding and acknowledge the invaluable contributions these outstanding educators provide to Seminole State College. The awards usually carry a $500 cash prize. However, donations from the Foundation Board members who served on the interview committee raised this year’s award to $1,000 for each honoree.

All eight of these faculty members will be invited to represent the College at next year’s NISOD Faculty Excellence Conference in Austin.

For more information on the Endowed Teaching Chair program, please visit the Foundation for Seminole State College website.

Campus Announcements »

Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month with Seminole State

Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month with Seminole StateSeminole State College of Florida’s Office of Student Life will host Hispanic Heritage Month activities featuring food and cultural activities at each of the College’s campuses. Hispanic Heritage Month runs through Oct. 15.Read More »

Campus Announcements »

Seminole State offering assistance following Hurricane Irma

Seminole State offering assistance following Hurricane IrmaSeminole State College of Florida is offering services to members of the College community who need assistance following Hurricane Irma. Here’s what you need to know.Read More »

Campus Announcements »

Seminole State receives 4th consecutive national award for excellence in diversity and inclusion

Seminole State receives 4th consecutive national award for excellence in diversity and inclusionSeminole State College of Florida is one of only five Florida colleges and universities honored with a Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the oldest and largest diversity-focused publication in higher education. This is the fourth consecutive year that Seminole State has been named as a HEED Award recipient. Only 80 colleges and universities nationwide were selected for the award.Read More »

Our Social Media

Featured Video

View All Videos »

Submit a News Story

Do you have a story that you would like us to cover? Send us the info and, if available, a related photo.

Submit story and/or photo Submit story
and/or photo

Media Relations »