Sunday, Jun 24, 2018
Subscribe to our News RSS

Featured Story

College names 2012 Endowed Teaching Chairs

From left: Dr. Jordan Camenker, Professor Carol Perezluha, Professor Bonnie Tensen and Professor Terri Walsh

Four Seminole State College of Florida faculty members were honored with $5,000 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards during the College's Spring 2012 Commencement Ceremony on Friday, April 27. They are:

Jordan Camenker, E. Ann McGee Endowed Teaching Chair

Dr. Jordan Camenker has taught business and legal studies at Seminole State since 2000. In 2010 he became program manager of Legal Studies.

As coach of Phi Beta Lambda, the College’s chapter of Future Business Leaders of America, Camenker has guided students to business law competition victories eight of the last 10 years. Camenker also started the Law for Lunch Bunch, a brown-bag discussion program that covers topics in the news, such as privacy law, foreclosure and immigration law.

After receiving his juris doctorate from the University of Florida College of Law in 1983, Camenker practiced law in the areas of commercial litigation and transactions; securities litigation and arbitration; family law; computer law and high-tech litigation; and various pro bono cases.

Carol Perezluha, SunTrust Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Carol Perezluha has been teaching developmental mathematics at Seminole State since 1997, both in the classroom and online. She likes to use music in her classes: classical pieces to stimulate the math side of the brain and New Age instrumental music to reduce anxiety.

Before entering academia, Perezluha was a systems analyst and project manager at AT&T. While there, she was awarded the prestigious AT&T Science and Engineering Fellowship to attend the University of Central Florida full time. She received a master’s degree in Operations Research in 1987, graduating with a 4.0 GPA.

Bonnie Tensen, Orlando Regional Healthcare System Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Bonnie Tensen teaches British Literature, English Composition, Fundamentals of Writing and Critical Thinking and Technology. She has been among the pioneers of online teaching at the College and has published extensively on the subject. She also co-chairs the College’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) committee.

Tensen received her master’s in English from Stetson University and her bachelor’s in religious studies from Wheaton College.

Terri Walsh, Citizens Bank of Florida, B.F. Wheeler Sr. Endowed Teaching Chair

Professor Terri Walsh has been the program manager for accounting since 2005. She has established internship and jobs for her students with more than 23 companies in Central Florida, leading to employment for 91 students during the last five years. She also created a Speaker Series held every semester; so far, more than 500 students have attended to learn about accounting and other business careers.

Walsh received her M.B.A. from the University of Central Florida in 1991, graduating summa cum laude.

Endowed Teaching Chair Awards recognize some of Seminole State's most outstanding educators for their invaluable contributions to the College. Applicants are nominated by their peers and screened by a committee of faculty and staff volunteers. Members of the Foundation for Seminole State College's Board of Directors interview the finalists and select the honorees.

Four faculty members who were selected as finalists but not conferred with Endowed Teaching Chairs were recognized with Ken Sylvester Faculty Excellence Awards. Honorees are:

  • Professor Dianna Campbell, Music
  • Professor Laura Dickinson, Speech
  • Professor Karen Feldman, English
  • Professor Samuel Gaustad, Humanities

The Faculty Excellence Awards, provided through funding from an Endowed Teaching Chair donor, acknowledge the teaching excellence these educators provide to Seminole State College. Honorees receive a $500 cash award.

For more information on the Endowed Teaching Chair program, please visit the Foundation for Seminole State College website.

Campus Announcements »

Seminole State student receives scholarship from The 49 Fund at Central Florida Foundation

Seminole State student receives scholarship from The 49 Fund at Central Florida FoundationSaturday, June 9, at Orlando City Hall, as part of an ongoing effort to honor those whose lives were lost in the Pulse nightclub tragedy, The 49 Fund at Central Florida Foundation awarded Seminole State College of Florida student Courtney Ring a scholarship in the amount of $4,900, for her leadership, academic excellence and commitment to serving the community.Read More »

Foundation »

Foundation for Seminole State offering $200,000 in scholarships for Fall 2018

Foundation for Seminole State offering $200,000 in scholarships for Fall 2018Scholarships for Fall Term 2018 are available for qualified students through the Foundation for Seminole State College. The deadline for students to apply is 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, July 15.Read More »

Campus Announcements »

Seminole State alumna designs mural for Orlando City Soccer Club

Seminole State alumna designs mural for Orlando City Soccer ClubOn Wednesday, May 30, in the north concourse, beneath the supporter’s section at Orlando City Stadium, Orlando City Soccer Club unveiled its new mural, which was uniquely designed by Seminole State College of Florida alumna Danielle Schwiegerath-Head.Read More »

Our Social Media

Featured Video

View All Videos »

Submit a News Story

Do you have a story that you would like us to cover? Send us the info and, if available, a related photo.

Submit story and/or photo Submit story
and/or photo

Media Relations »