Travel Study Resources for Faculty

Lynn Colon and Rachel Braaten in Japan
Altamonte Springs Campus Provost Lynn Colon
and Humanities Professor Rachel Braaten
traveled to Japan in 2009.

Leading/Planning a Travel Study Program

Full-time Seminole State faculty members who are interested in traveling abroad may apply to become a Travel Study leader. Travel Study leaders are responsible for organizing and executing a Travel Study Program in collaboration with an educational tour company.

Travel Study Co-Leaders

Travel Study co-leaders are selected by the trip leader as needed to assist with recruitment, fundraising and logistics throughout the planning and implementation process. Only full-time faculty members are eligible to serve as co-leaders.

Please note: Co-leaders may travel at a reduced cost or no cost only if a predetermined number of participants enroll in the Travel Study Program. This number is established by the tour company.

Advisory Board, Center for Global Engagement

The Center for Global Engagement has an Advisory Board made up of six members, including a combination of faculty and administrative staff members with expertise in study abroad programs and/or service learning. Board members are appointed by the vice president for Academic Affairs and serve a one-year term, which expires Aug. 31 each year. Members are eligible for re-appointment.

Current Advisory Board members:

  • Constance Hudspeth, professor (communications)
  • Richard Harmon, professor (theatre)
  • Rachel Braaten, professor (humanities)
  • Hugh Moore, associate dean (Center for Business, Management & Entrepreneurship)
  • Jan Lloyd-Lesley, associate vice president for Student Affairs - Student Development
  • Kevin Konecny, director, Center for Global Engagement (ex officio member)

Additional Resources