Student Fees, Residency and Financial Aid Services Print Page

2013-2014 Fee Schedule

The Florida State Legislature and the Seminole State District Board of Trustees annually establish required fees. The following information on tuition and fees is presented as a guide for estimating the cost of attending Seminole State College. All fees are subject to change without notice.

Fee schedule for 2013-2014

 

 Florida Resident Fees
(per credit or credit equivalent)
Non-Florida Resident
(per credit or credit equivalent)
College Credit Fees (per credit hour)
Tuition $79.78 $79.78
Nonresident Fee $0.00 $236.69
Financial Aid Fee $3.00 $14.84
Student Activity Fee $7.88 $7.88
Capital Improvement Fee $7.88 $25.00
Technology Fee $3.94 $15.78
Parking Fee $1.60 $1.60
ID Card Fee $0.30 $0.30
Total Credit Hour Rate
$104.38 $381.87
Post-Secondary Adult Vocational Credit (per credit equivalent)
Tuition $69.90 $69.90
Nonresident Fee $0.00 $209.70
Financial Aid Fee $6.90 $27.90
Capital Improvement Fee $3.30 $13.80
Technology Fee $3.30 $13.80
Parking Fee $1.50 $1.50
ID Card Fee $0.30 $0.30
Total Per Credit Hour $85.20 $336.90
Total Per Contact Hour Rate $2.84 $11.23
Baccalaureate Fees (per credit hour)
Tuition $91.79 $91.79
Nonresident Fee $0.00 $262.26
Financial Aid Fee $4.37 $17.48
Student Activity Fee $8.74 $8.74
Capital Improvement Fee $8.74 $25.00
Technology Fee $4.37 $17.48
Parking Fee $1.60 $1.60
ID Card Fee $0.30 $0.30
Total Credit Hour Rate $119.91 $424.65
Academic Foundations Fees (per credit equivalent)
Tuition Per Term$30.00 $30.00
Nonresident Fee $0.00 Per Term$90.00
Per Term Fees $30.00 $120.00
Note: One credit equivalent is equal to 30 contact hours.

 

Other Fees Which May Be Assessed At The Time Of Registration
Distance Learning Fee $5.70 (Per Credit Hour)
Dishonored Check Service Charge $25.00
International Student Fee $50.00
Student ID Card Replacement Fee $10.00
Transcript Fee $5.00
Degree Verification Fee $4.00
Parking Fine $10.00
Laboratory Fee Range
Arts and Sciences Courses $20-$150
Career Programs Courses $4-$800
Non Credit Courses $0.04-$50

Fees are subject to change without notice.

Other Fees

Library
In addition to the following fines, replacment cost for lost items will also be charged. FINE AMOUNT
Library service charge for lost books, DVD's, CD's $10.00
Library service charge for overdue reserve materials or Netbook (not to exceed $24.00) $2.00/hour

Library book rebinding fee

$12.00

 Service charge for lost eReader

$15.00

 Late return fee for eReaders (not to exceed $35.00)

$5.00/day

 Late return fee for DVD or CD (not to exceed $21.00)

$3.00/day
Other
Career Development Center service charge for lost items $5.00
Licensure testing (fee range) $10.00 to $150.00
International student processing fee $50.00
Student ID card fee (charge per credit hour) $0.30
Student ID card replacement fee $10.00
Distance learning user fee (charge per credit hour) $5.70
Transcript fee  $5.00
Degree verify fee $4.00
Testing Fees
General Education Development (GED) test (full battery) $70.00
GED Test 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 (fee per test) $14.00
GED writing test   $16.00
U.S.A.F. conversion $16.00
CLEP/DANTES registration fee $15.00
CLEP test $77.00*
DANTES test $70.00
Correspondence testing $35.00
TABE survey form $0
TABE survey form (non-Seminole State student) $25.00
TABE complete battery (non-Seminole State student) $40.00
TABE retakes $0
TABE retakes (non-Seminole State student) $25.00
TEAS - Computer $40.00
TEAS (non-Seminole State student) $50.00
CPT (Accuplacer) $0 (retake $10.00)
CPT (non-Seminole State student) $25.00
PERT  $0 (retake $10.00)
PERT (non-Seminole State student) $25.00
Prometric tests Fees determined by certifying agency
CJBAT $40.00
CJBAT (non-Seminole State student) $50.00
ACT Center Network Testing (Seminole State provides this service to give students access to all tests provided by the ACT Center.)

Fees determined by certifying agency

Note: Fees are subject to change without notice.
* Subject to change by National CLEP Office

Theatre Admission Fees*

  • General Admission - $10
  • Discounted price of $8 available to:
    • Senior citizens over the age of 60
    • Students of other colleges or universities, K-12 schools and preschool children
  • Complimentary (no charge) admission available to:
    • Seminole State College students and faculty and staff members
    • Visiting dignitaries, press, prospective students and special guests of the theatre or College

*Subject to board approval.

Students who do not utilize any of the parking facilities on any Seminole State campus or center, may complete a parking fee waiver form availalble at www.seminolestate.edu/ofb/forms.  Forms must be returned in person to any Seminole State Cashiers Office.  Students who opt out of paying the parking fee will not be eligible for a Seminole State parking decal.  Parking fee waivers are term/session specific and cannot be retroactively granted.

Returned Check Policy


A $25 returned check fee will be charged for each check made payable to Seminole State College that is returned by the bank for non-payment. Returned checks that are given in payment of registration fees must be paid in full within 15 calendar days from the date the student is notified by the College, or the student's enrollment may be canceled. Students will have check-payment privileges denied after two returned checks.  The Student Accounting Services Office will send three mail notices to the maker of the check. If full payment is not received within 30 days of receipt of the third notice, the check will be considered for referral to a third-party collection agency and possible criminal prosecution.

Refund Policy*

General Information: To receive a refund, the student must be officially dropped from a course or there must be a College action, such as a course cancellation. The drop date will be determined by the date on the Drop Form or online self-service transaction date, as received by the Registration Office. To be eligible for a refund for a student-initiated drop, add/drop forms or an online self-service transaction must be received prior to the end of the add/drop period for each term and session, as published in the Seminole State Catalog (see Academic Calendar).

A Full Term is divided into:

  • A Session (first half of a full term);
  • B Session (last half of a full term);
  • Odd Term (OT) Session (occurs within the Full Term and has a predetermined start and end date. OT sessions may start and end at any time, and they may last for a day, week, month or more);
  • Open Entry/Exit (OEE) Session (occurs within the Full Term and has a predetermined start and end period. These classes are normally learner-paced, and the student may enter and exit within the predetermined start and end period.)

*Refund policy subject to change.

Refunds will be made as follows:

 

College and Vocational Credit
Session: A, B or Full Term
Courses dropped by the close of business hours or online by midnight on the last scheduled date of add/drop 100 percent
Thereafter * No refund
Session: Odd Term (OT)
For classes meeting one to three days: courses dropped prior to the first scheduled class day 100 percent 
Thereafter* No refund
For classes meeting four days or more: courses dropped within one calendar day after the first scheduled class day 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
Session: Open Entry/Exit (OEE)
Refund is by petition only
Noncredit Courses (Community Education/Private Lessons)
Session A, B, C or full
Courses dropped by the close of business hours or online by midnight on the last scheduled date of add/drop 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
Session: Odd Term (OT)
For classes meeting one to three days: courses dropped prior to the first scheduled class day 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
For classes meeting four days or more: courses dropped within one calendar day after the first scheduled class day 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
Session: Open Entry/Exit (OEE)
Refund is by petition only
Noncredit Courses (Language Institute)
Session A, B, or full term
Courses dropped by the close of business hours or online by midnight on the last scheduled date of add/drop 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
Session: Odd Term (OT)
For classes meeting one to three days: courses dropped prior to the first scheduled class day 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
For classes meeting four days or more: courses dropped within one calendar day after the first scheduled class day 100 percent
Thereafter* No refund
Session: Open Entry/Exit (OEE)
Refund is by petition only
Noncredit Courses (Corporate Contracted Classes)
Refund is subject to terms of applicable contract
Thereafter * No refund
General Refunds
Courses canceled by the College 100 percent
College error 100 percent

*Seminole State College may refund 100 percent of tuition and fees after the published refund deadline if a student withdraws from a course(s) due to an emergency or extraordinary circumstances. Emergency or extraordinary circumstances must be determined by the College to be exceptional and beyond the student's control and may include, but are not limited to: serious illness, death, involuntary call to active military duty, or other emergency circumstances or extraordinary situations. No refund will be approved unless the student provides the necessary documentation that supports the reason for a refund. If documentation cannot be provided, the request for refund cannot be considered. Students must file a petition prior to the beginning of classes for the next successive term. Failure to file the petition in a timely manner will be considered as a reason for the denial of the request.

Refund for Students Receiving Federal Financial Aid

Seminole State will issue refunds after the official refund deadline pursuant to U.S. Department of Education requirements. Information is available from the Student Financial Resources Office.

Residency Statement

All Seminole State College applicants who are Florida residents for tuition purposes are required to make a statement as to their length of residence in the State of Florida and submit it with their application for admission in accordance with criteria set forth in Section 1009.21, F.S. and 6A-10.044 F.B.R. Applicants who are not residents for tuition purposes may attend Seminole State College and are not required to submit a statement of residency. Non-Florida residents, for tuition purposes, will pay higher fees than Florida residents.

A Florida resident, for tuition purposes, or if a dependent child, his/her parent(s), must have established and maintained a legal residence in the state for at least 12 months immediately prior to his/her registration. The applicant must state that his/her length of residence, or if a dependent child, his/her parent(s) length of residence, was for the purpose of maintaining a bona fide domicile and not for the purpose of maintaining a temporary residence for tuition purposes.

A dependent child is a person who is eligible to be claimed by his/her parent(s) as a "child" under the Federal Income Tax Codes whether or not they are living with the parent(s). A dependent child living with an adult relative other than his/her parent(s) may qualify as a Florida resident for tuition purposes if the adult relative has maintained a legal residence in the State of Florida for 12 consecutive months and the dependent child has lived with the relative for five years immediately preceding registration. The adult relative must have exercised the day-to-day care, supervision and control of the child during the five-year period. A dependent child whose parents are divorced or separated may qualify as a resident for tuition purposes if either parent is a legal resident of Florida, regardless of which parent claims the child as a dependent for federal income tax purposes. The following categories will be considered as Florida residents for tuition purposes:
  • Active duty members of the armed forces and their dependents.
  • Full-time instructional and administrative personnel employed by a public educational institution and their dependents.
  • Qualified beneficiaries under the Florida Pre-Paid Postsecondary Expense program.
  • Others as permitted by state statute or rule.

Seminole State College may deny credit earned by a student if it is determined that he/she has made false, incomplete or fraudulent statements in connection with his/her application for admission. In determining Florida residency for tuition purposes, the burden of proof rests with the applicant.

A non-Florida resident may apply in writing for re-classification as a resident for tuition purposes. Non-Florida residents must produce evidence that they are legal residents and have resided in the state for 12 consecutive months. A dependent child must provide evidence that his/her parents are legal residents of Florida. A resident alien may be considered a Florida resident for tuition purposes if he/she has resided in the State of Florida for 12 consecutive months after being granted resident alien status by the United States Immigration and Naturalization Service. Only non-resident aliens, classed in specific visa categories as determined by the State of Florida, may be eligible for classification as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. If the applicant provides evidence satisfactory to the College, the applicant will be reclassified as a resident for tuition purposes for subsequent terms.

A student may appeal residency classification by following the College-approved appeals process for residency classification.

Payment of Tuition and Fees

Students can view their fees and payment deadlines by logging in to MySeminoleState and navigating to the Student Center. All fees must be paid by the due dates shown on the account or the student risks being dropped from his/her classes.

After initial enrollment and payment of tuition and fees each term, it remains the student's responsibility to verify that the account balance remains zero after any further enrollment activity on the account for that term. Students are encouraged to review their MySeminoleState Student Center each time they have enrollment activity and pay any outstanding balance by the payment due date.

In some cases, fees may be deferred against anticipated financial aid. Tuition deferment is an online process and must be completed every term. After all financial aid, scholarships and third-party funding have been applied to the student's account, it is his/her responsibility to pay any remaining balance by the due date.

Acceptable payment methods for tuition and fees:

  • In person at any Seminole State campus cashier window with cash, check, money order, credit card or debit card (cardholder must be present to sign for all credit card and debit card transactions);
  • Online, via MySeminoleState, with a valid credit card;
  • Mail a check (checks must be preprinted with account holder's name and address) or money order, made payable to Seminole State College, to the following address:

Seminole State College of Florida
Business Services Office L213
100 Weldon Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773

Please include the student's Seminole State student ID number on the check or money order. Payments made via U.S. mail must be received in the Business Services Office at least three to five business days before the payment due date to allow for processing.

For more information about a student's tuition and fees, call the Cashiers Office at 407.708.2140.

Want more info? Contact us.

Seminole State College
100 Weldon Boulevard
Sanford, Florida 32773-6199
407.708.4722

Seminole State General Contact Information